Author Topic: Creating a new cache  (Read 72 times)

Offline L8HNB

  • Rambler
  • *
  • Posts: 191
  • Karma: +9/-0
  • I'm a CacheWalker
    • View Profile
Creating a new cache
« on: November 24, 2013, 08:12:53 pm »
I guess some of you may know about this...

I've just been trying to create a new cache on groundspeaks wonderful software and couldn't because it wouldn't let me select a container type!

After posting on the GS UK forum I greatfully received a pm from Delta68 suggesting I use the old cache page, which worked a treat!  I have to ask, but not on the GS forum  :D, why do a fancy set of pages that don't work?

Anyway, if anyone else needs it this is where you need to go: www.geocaching.com/hide/report.aspx

Cheers, H.

Share on Facebook Share on Twitter


Offline walktall

  • Administrator
  • CacheWalker
  • *
  • Posts: 4020
  • Karma: +38/-7
  • the Peace of walking
    • View Profile
    • Yinglong
Re: Creating a new cache
« Reply #1 on: November 24, 2013, 08:34:26 pm »
I've not heard of that one and didn't have a problem with the new forms using Firefox on a PC platform.
Lets go for a CacheWalker  
CacheWalker & Cotswold Caching forums for the Cotswolds & beyond

Offline L8HNB

  • Rambler
  • *
  • Posts: 191
  • Karma: +9/-0
  • I'm a CacheWalker
    • View Profile
Re: Creating a new cache
« Reply #2 on: November 24, 2013, 08:41:33 pm »
Funny how other old hands did though David!  I'm using W7 on a laptop so pretty standard stuff, not old or brand new technology.

It's much easier on the old form, imho, all on one page and you can save/register at any time without having to get to the end.  I always (well the last and only three!) create the page and then like to develop it and re-read it a few times.

Offline walktall

  • Administrator
  • CacheWalker
  • *
  • Posts: 4020
  • Karma: +38/-7
  • the Peace of walking
    • View Profile
    • Yinglong
Re: Creating a new cache
« Reply #3 on: November 24, 2013, 11:47:36 pm »
I prefer the old form as well  :D
Lets go for a CacheWalker  
CacheWalker & Cotswold Caching forums for the Cotswolds & beyond

Offline Griff Grof

  • Administrator
  • CacheWalker
  • *
  • Posts: 4245
  • Karma: +40/-1
  • The joys of caching
  • Location: The Cotswolds, UK
    • View Profile
    • My Geocaching Blog
Re: Creating a new cache
« Reply #4 on: November 25, 2013, 07:59:57 am »
I too prefer the old form - there was nothing wrong with it, so why create a new one? Plus GS haven't rolled the new system out for when you edit a listing, so it's just a gimmick at the moment  :o :D

I do like how you can edit the cache descriptions richly though  :)
~Caching in the Cotswolds and beyond ~
My Geocaching Blog ~ SUBSCRIBE

 


CacheWalker - for those who love geocaching and walking
2012-2019 CacheWalker

Header Image: Kandersteg, Switzerland Altra